Old 09-11-2012, 03:21 PM   #1
willow1982
Casting On

New to knitting and confused already...
Hi there I'm a relative newbie to knitting and thought a wonderful way to start would be to knit my dog a jumper.. It looks easy enough I thought.. Well im on the 3rd row and confused already!! Lol. It's a basic 2x2 rib pattern mostly, but on the 3rd line for the pattern it says "(buttonhole row)(RS) *P2, K2, rep from * to last 6 sts, P1, P2tog, yrn/yo twice, P2tog, P1"

However, the confusing bit is can I really fit all those last stitches onto the remaining 6 stitches?! I seem to run out and just cannot work it out at all... I'm sorry if I sound rather stupid, and thank you in advance for any help x
willow1982 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-11-2012, 04:06 PM   #2
Antares
Working the Gusset

Welcome to KH and to knitting!

Although it looks like your stitches won't all fit, they indeed will. A P2tog uses two stitches to make 1 stitch, and yo's or (also called in this pattern "yrn/yo") do not use a stitch to make a stitch. So you will be wrapping the yarn around the needle twice. Also note: Since these yo's come before a purl stitch, you'll need to wrap the yarn in the same way that you wrap it to make a purl stitch.

Take a look at this video if you need a refresher re: yos: http://www.knittinghelp.com/video/pl...er-continental
Antares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:14 PM   #3
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,763 Times in 7,131 Posts
That's pretty ambitious for a newbie, but not impossible. Can you give a pattern name and a link?

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
willow1982
Casting On