Old 12-03-2012, 02:46 PM   #1
oliviap5
Ribbing the Cuff

Stockinette Seed Diamonds Question: Beginner
Hello all!

I am a beginner knitter and am right now working on getting the different types of patterns down. As in, I have not knit anything other than a scarf.

I have The Complete Photo Guide to Knitting and am using it as a guide, and am currently learning how to knit Stockinette Seed Diamonds. My pattern looks *very* different than the book's pattern. I am confused because I have carefully followed each line, making sure to knit and purl correctly and carefully.

I have two questions:

Might it look different because of the type of yarn? I am using Red Heart Super Saver yarn because while I am still learning the basics, I do not really want to invest in good quality yarn. Might this be a bad idea?

Also, when I am switching from knitting to purling in a row, do I always bring the yarn back and forth over the needle?

Like the instructions will say p1, k1, p1. Do they assume that I am bringing the yarn over and back? or will it say yo (yarn over)?

Thank you so much for reading!! I truly enjoy knitting and am hoping that this community can help me share and learn.
oliviap5 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-03-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq
Quote:
Also, when I am switching from knitting to purling in a row, do I always bring the yarn back and forth over the needle?
This is probably your problem - the yarn is moved between the needle tips.

If you were to wrap the yarn over the needle on purpose, it would say YO. A yo usually only occurs in a lace or eyelet pattern where it's generally paired with a decrease.

suzeeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:01 PM   #3
oliviap5
Ribbing the Cuff