Old 12-19-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
oliviap5
Ribbing the Cuff

Beginner: Knitting in the Round
Hello!

I am a beginning knitter and am going to start my first knitting project using circular needles. Here: http://www.overstock.com/Crafts-Sewi...2/product.html

I have watched a few videos about how to use circular needles but am wondering if anyone had any other advice. I am just going to knit a simple cowl using some Lion Brand chunky wool yarn.

How many stitches should I cast on?
Is there a certain type of pattern I should use?
And also, I know that I should use a stitch marker, but I am confused (again, beginner here) as to how to get the stitch marker off once have completed the project? It's probably very simple, but this is just a whole new concept for me.

Thank you so much for the help!!
oliviap5 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-19-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
GrumpyGramma
2nd Sock, I Rock

Thanked 3,196 Times in 2,697 Posts
The easiest part is how to get the stitch marker off at the end: It will just slide off the needle.

You might try looking at www.ravelry.com for some simple patterns using worsted weight yarn. Ravelry is free to join.

ETA I suggested patterns for worsted weight because the needles you linked to are sz. 8, kind of small for a thicker yarn.

Happiness is catching that dropped stitch while it's still fixable..

Last edited by GrumpyGramma : 12-19-2012 at 04:20 PM.
GrumpyGramma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
kari47
Casting On

knitting in the round