Old 12-20-2012, 02:28 PM   #1
mgdugo
Casting On

Problem with Circular knitting after cast on
Hi,
I'm pretty new to knitting. A few months ago though I knit a cowl with circular needles. I am working on another as a last minute Christmas present and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I've cast on and tried the first row 2 times. I also tried to keep going to the second and it turns into a huge mess
After I cast on and start knitting that row, by the end the connecting thread between my two needles is so long I have to pull it through with my other hand to even get it to the other needle. It gets so long it keeps getting mixed up with my working yarn and stuck when I'm pulling it through...I don't remember this being a problem at all in my first project so I have no idea what I am doing wrong to create so much extra yarn.
Also I am sure I am using the correct size and length circular needle according to the pattern and the stitches pretty well fill up the needles.
If anyone has any ideas what could possibly be going on I would really appreciate the help!!! Thanks
mgdugo is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-20-2012, 02:37 PM   #2
GrumpyGramma
2nd Sock, I Rock

Thanked 3,197 Times in 2,698 Posts
I'm not really sure what's causing this but do think a good join on the cast on round would be beneficial. I've started using this method in which you cast on an extra stitch and essentially do a one stitch bind off. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cG8y...eature=related I'm thinking that if you get the first stitches joined up neatly then the rest will fall in line for you. HTH

Happiness is catching that dropped stitch while it's still fixable..

GrumpyGramma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:51 PM   #3
Antares
Working the Gusset