Old 01-15-2013, 04:21 PM   #1
susanc
Turning the Heel

Knitting With Two Strands of Yarn
Hello Everyone,
I have a pattern to knit a pair of slippers that calls for knitting with two strands of yarn. What is the best way to do this? Do I knit from both ends of the same skein? I've never tried this before and am not sure the best way so that the yarn doesn't get all twisted.
I would appreciate any help you can give me.
Thank you!

I'm a chick with sticks and I'm not afraid to use them!

susanc

http://susanc-yarnnut.blogspot.com
susanc is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-15-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,750 Times in 7,120 Posts
You can with with both ends of the skein or you can knit with two skeins. I prefer two skeins myself because I found the yarns get tangled less. They still twist together, but you can learn to minimize this by the way you turn your work.

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
susanc (01-15-2013)
Old 01-15-2013, 05:16 PM   #3
susanc
Turning the Heel

Originally Posted by Jan in CA View Post
You can with with both ends of the skein or you can knit with two skeins. I prefer two skeins myself because I found the yarns get tangled less. They still twist together, but you can learn to minimize this by the way you turn your work.
Thank you Jan. Do you make sure the yarn is not twisted as you're placing stitches on the needles or do you just not worry about it? I just am worried about the slippers looking "messy".
Also, you mentioned about the way you turn your work ~ could you elaborate on that please? Thank you!

susanc

Last edited by susanc : 01-15-2013 at 05:33 PM. Reason: Forgot another question