Old 02-02-2013, 01:30 AM   #1
loligo
Casting On

Help - extra stitch/something when using magic loop
I tried searching on here before posting, but I couldn't find anything.

I'm fairly new to knitting, and I'm trying to figure out the magic loop for a hat I am working on. I keep ending up with what looks like a dropped stitch/extra stitch/I'm not quite sure! I know for sure it's something extra... in the example in this picture, I had 22 stitches, and then I had 23, including the oddball, after I did a round.

Any help is greatly appreciated... I've done a bunch of tests trying to figure out where this is coming from, but I still can't figure it out!

loligo is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-02-2013, 02:03 AM   #2
sewreal
Casting On

it looks as if you have a yo. it looks as if you brought the yarn over the needle, and then knitted the next stitch.
sewreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:23 AM   #3
DavidSydney63
Knitting the Flap

Posting your pattern will help enormously the brain's trust figure this out, are you able to scan it?
DavidSydney63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:45 AM   #4
GrumpyGramma
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 3,045 Times in 2,557 Posts
It does look like you have a yarn over. Is it from where you divide the stitches to make a loop? I sometimes have the yarn over the needle and don't notice till the next time I come to it...or I've knit it and have an extra stitch.

GrumpyGramma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:04 AM   #5
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,739 Times in 7,111 Posts
Could be an accidental YO (yarn over) or what happens to me sometimes is I find that if I'm chatting with a group I don't watch as closely and sometimes the left needle pokes through the edge so it almost looks like a stitch. I usually catch it, but I have knit it.