Old 03-27-2013, 08:31 AM   #1
ad2knit
1st Leg of the Journey

ugh pain :-(
Hey everyone Im new here so thought Id say hi. I am a sort of beginner knitter and I am from the UK. Hi :-)

Ok so, like, I have a problem. I am currently trying to knot a baby blanket for my BFFs baby due in May. She has a baby shower in 2 weeks and I thought the blanket would be an awesome gift for the shower. Now I have a small problem in that I am getting pain in my hands. it started off in my right index finger but thar seemed to have eased and somehow has travelled to my left hand. um....advice please? I do stretches before/after knitting. The only rhing I can think of is this may have happened because of knitting too long and I hadnt realised yikes. Since it started (monday) I havent picked up ny needles and am just resting my hands. Can anyone advise on what I can do. I love knitting and I dont want to stop cos its theraputic and fun and I also need to finish this blanket. Help?

Edited to add I have been putting Ibuprofen gel on but not sure how this would help :/

Last edited by ad2knit : 03-27-2013 at 08:45 AM. Reason: wanted to add extra
ad2knit is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-27-2013, 08:43 AM   #2
Antares
Working the Gusset

Hello from across the pond and welcome to KH.

Yeah, it kinda sounds like you might have overdone it. Can you tell that the pain has subsided any since you've stopped knitting for a while?

Often soreness will go away after a few days; however, if the pain hasn't lessened any, you might want to high thee to a doctor to make sure there's nothing wrong there!