Old 04-10-2013, 11:04 AM   #1
manverinyel
Casting On

Doing a pattern backwards (_Warm Weather Knits_ pattern)
Hello everyone! I'm somewhat new to knitting and I've been working on a pattern from _Warm Weather Knits_, by Deborah Newton. The pattern is for a sun dress ("Peridot Dress" pgs. 56-61 if you have the book) which requires two nearly-identical panels to be knit for the front and back, then stitched together.

I discovered a problem only _after_ finishing both panels and attached the upper parts; somehow, despite how often I re-counted, I found that the back panel was 8 rows shorter than the front panel. So I had the possibly brilliant, possibly idiotic idea to unravel the panel from the _bottom_, where I hadn't done any finishing work yet, and knit on the extra 8 rows by working the pattern _backwards_. However, I'm now growing very concerned because the pattern won't unravel simply, and that tells me that it may not be possible to knit it on backwards either.

Here is the relevant portion of the original pattern:

For the first four cm after casting on, work the following pattern:
Row 1 (RS) knit across.
Row 2 (WS) *k4, p2, k4; repeat from * across
Row 3 (RS) *k3, right twist, left twist, k3; repeat from * across
Row 4 (WS) purl across

"Right twist" means: "k2 together but do not slip st from needle; insert rh needle between the sts just knitted together, and knit the first st again; ten drop both sts from lh needle together."

"Left twist" means: "insert rh needle in back of 2nd st on lh needle, then knit this st, do not drop sts, then knit first st as usual; then drop both sts from lh needle together."