Old 09-01-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Jemm
Ribbing the Cuff

Calorimetry question
I'm new to knitting and have a question regarding the sl stitch in this pattern:

Since the pattern is done in 2x2 ribbing, is it necessary to bring the yarn forward to do the sl after turning the work when the yarn is already in back from having knit the last 2 stitches? I've been leaving the yarn in the back (yarn in back after turning), sl and continued to purl over the knit stitch to continue with the ribbing.

Hope this isn't too silly
Jemm is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-01-2013, 05:21 PM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,729 Times in 7,102 Posts
Unless otherwise stated in the pattern you usually slip the stitch purl wise with yarn in the back. That means to slip it needle tip to needle tip with the yarn in back as if to knit.

It doesn't say on this pattern so it probably doesn't make a difference as long as you're consistent. As long as it looks good and you're happy with it keep doing what you are.

Welcome to KH!

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jan in CA For This Useful Post:
Jemm (09-01-2013)
Old 09-01-2013, 07:36 PM   #3
Jemm
Ribbing the Cuff

Thanks so much for the welcome and for posting back.

I might have misunderstood what I'm supposed to do with sl. There was no indication in the pattern to do slp for the purl stitches in the ribbing - only sl. Basically I slipped every stitch (either knit or purl) by sliding from the left of the stitch to the right, but leaving the yarn where it falls naturally and not moving it forward, then back again to purl. Does this make sense?