Old 01-20-2014, 01:31 PM   #1
dturner
Turning the Heel

Crochet stitch count question
I am new to crochet, and I made this swatch just for practice. I chained 11 for a total of ten stitches. I then crocheted two rows each of single, half-double, double, and triple crochet. Here's my question. After each row, I counted the stitches to make sure that I had the correct number of stitches. After completing the triple crochet rows, I now have 11 posts. Should the number of posts match the number of stitches, or should I count the spaces between the posts?
Attached Thumbnails:
Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_crochetswatch.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	57510  
dturner is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dturner For This Useful Post:
Frulanuprak (03-14-2014)

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-20-2014, 01:49 PM   #2
GrumpyGramma
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 3,083 Times in 2,594 Posts
Your stitches look very nice.

You have 11 sts. I had to think and go take a look at a couple of things because it's been so long since I crocheted. Each post is a stitch and that's how I would count them, I'd run my thumb along the row and count each post as I ran my thumb over it. It looks to me as if you have 11 sts in your hdc rows as well. I can't tell when or where the 11th st came in. Are you sure you have 10 sc? It looks like 11 to me.

ETA Looking again, I think on your 1st hdc row you worked an extra stitch at the end of the row, at the top of the photo. There's nothing like another look after hitting "submit" to see something more. LOL

Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance
...the five stages of frogging.
GrumpyGramma is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GrumpyGramma For This Useful Post:
dturner (01-20-2014)
Old 01-20-2014, 02:50 PM   #3
justplaincharlotte
Working the Gusset

Very nice and even stitches.