Old 02-19-2014, 12:38 PM   #1
PurpleDolphinGirl
Ribbing the Cuff

Loop stitch as edging?
Hoping to reach some who both knit and crochet. Have found an adorable beanie pattern for a baby. Hat pattern is knit, but I'm wondering if one could use the crocheted loop stitch around the brim for a frilly edge. Anyone ever tried something similar? I'm not very experienced with crochet beyond the chain and single crochet, so I'm not certain about this loop stitch yet.

AquaDolphin on ravelry.com
PurpleDolphinGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-19-2014, 01:46 PM   #2
GrumpyGramma
Grafting the Toe

Thanked 3,127 Times in 2,636 Posts
Certainly you can crochet an edge on a knitted piece. I don't see why the loop stitch couldn't be used. Just be sure that when you add your edging that it doesn't make the hat band too tight. There is a knitted version of the loop stitch also if you want to look for it. I think they're both interesting and want to try them on something.

Happiness is catching that dropped stitch while it's still fixable..

GrumpyGramma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 03:34 PM   #3
DogCatMom
Knitting the Flap

I knitted a hat in a class July 2011. The hat was too short for me to wear: it went across the tops of my ears. Bleah.

What it needed was edging. I picked up around the edge, one stitch in each stitch, and did a single crochet in each one. Then I did 2 dc in each sc and 2 dc in each dc, for a total of three rows and about 1.25" extra length for the hat.

For the baby hat, maybe pick up and make 1 sc in every other st around the bottom of the hat (hold the hat upside-down while doing this, since crochet builds from the bottom to the top as held in your hand). That's Row 1.