Old 03-23-2005, 08:43 AM   #1
Debbie
Working the Gusset

What is frogging??
I am new to knitting, thanks to KnittingHelp.com I have branched out to several new stitches. I COULD NOT get the moss stitch until I watched the video.... the whole bring the yarn forward to p and back to k thing. This morning I read the T-shirt thread . I have no idea what frogging is ... it isn't in the "abbreviations explained" ... and there is no video

Debbie
Debbie is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-23-2005, 08:50 AM   #2
KellyK
Sock Yarn Bliss

Send a message via Yahoo to KellyK
Oh, Debbie.....I hope you NEVER have to learn the FROGGING "stitch". It's the ugliest stitch there is! And, sadder than sad! :crying: Because Frogging is not a stitch at all, but the complete opposite! Frogging is the "lingo" for RIPPING (rip it = rippit = ribbit = FROGGING) out what you've done because of a mistake! Here's the video you were missing:
KellyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 10:14 AM   #3
happenin
1st Leg of the Journey

Debbie....

Everything KellyK just said...plus.....(just for "fun", try this)....

Make a big test swatch (the longer the row, the better) out of some yarn you've got....if you have some worsted acrylic handy, it'll do the job. Then, before you've bound it off, pretend you made a mistake somewhere, back in the first few rows of your work. Grab the working yarn in one hand and slide your work off the needle with the other. Next, pull out those stitches real, real quickly, as FAST as you can. If you do it fast enough, you might hear the ripping sound, which faintly sounds like a male bullfrog on a hot summer night! LOL No joke...it's true!

But this is just for fun....it's not so much fun when you've got a lot of time invested in a project and need to rip (frog) out the stitches in order to rework things. Hence the emoticon!
happenin is offline   Reply With Quote