Old 05-03-2005, 01:30 PM   #1
knitqueen
Grafting the Toe

Your FAVORITE knitting book ~~ please share
So Mother's Day is fast approaching and I've been dropping hints left right and center......my dh isn't the keenest when it comes to these kinds of things so I need to be blunt!! So I've suggested things like house plants, Starbucks coffee mugs, etc., then I got to thinking "Hmmmmmm, what knitting book would I REALLY like that I wouldn't justify buying for myself????" So I thought I'd ask you ladies! I'm a beginner/intermediate knitter and I like modern/hip/(yet not too weird) patterns. Not necessarily clothing, I like accessory type things, bags, hats, etc., and I have two young children that I like to knit for. I've looked into books like The Yarn Girls' Guide to Simple Knits, Stitch 'n Bitch (the first one or Nation), and The Knitter's Handy Book of Patterns, but I haven't personally seen any of them (just looked on-line) and I don't want to ask for something that I won't use.

Looking for any and all suggestions!!

:XX:
knitqueen is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-03-2005, 02:01 PM   #2
benniesma
Turning the Heel

Send a message via MSN to benniesma
I have the Yarn Girls Guide. I like it, there are a few sweater patterns that I know I'll try and actually wear! gasp! But, they only use chunky yarn, so it's a little limiting that way. And most patterns call for knitting with 2 strands. I think that can be a little expensive after awhile!

Let us know what book you do get. I need to expand my knitting library too!
Old 05-03-2005, 02:50 PM   #3
brookenic
Knitting the Flap

Send a message via AIM to brookenic Send a message via Yahoo to brookenic