Old 05-27-2005, 12:20 AM   #1
7mommy
Casting On

I'm a dizzy blonde...
Ok....you will all be laughing at me. I am a newbie. My dds took a knitting class and because they had problems, I got the "kids knitting" book from the library and taught myself so I could help them. I knitted quite a long ribbed scarf which my mil thought looked beautiful. She is a knitting expert, but lives several hundred miles away. I decided to try to make a sweater for my 2yo ds. It is done in one piece with only finishing under the arms. I have been doing ok until I got to this section of the directions:

Quote:
Next row (divide for neck opening), knit 39 sts (45, 50), join new ball of yarn, bind off next 7 sts, work rem 39 (45, 50). Working both sides at once, each on a separate ball of yarn, keeping pattern as established, work for 5, (6, 6 1/2) inches MORE, ending on a wrong side row
My mil told me just to knot the yarn on. Is this ok? I am using an acrylic yarn. I was able to bind off 7 stiches, but I am not sure what to do next. I continued down the row k1p1 using two threads instead of one. Is this correct? I just don't understand what "work both sides at once" means.

For further reference, follow the link to the pattern http://margarethubertoriginals.com/newpage2.htm

Please help me!! I am such a newbie

Rebecca
7mommy is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-27-2005, 12:42 AM   #2
Hildegard_von_Knittin
2nd Sock, I Rock

welcome 7mommy!!!

You could just knot the yarn, if you like, but it might be neater to leave a bit of a tail to weave in. If you do tie a know, try to do it so it won't show.