Old 05-28-2005, 09:43 AM   #1
Kilgore_Trout
Ribbing the Cuff

Worsted Wool?
Ok so I have a pattern that calls for worsted wool weight yarn, and size 13 needles, and you're supposed to use 2 strands at once. The problem is that I can only find worsted wool thats thin (like normal yarn thin) and the result I get is very "fishnet like". Extremely loose! Are there thicker yarns that I should be using? The pattern does call for felting at the end, which I've never done before. Does felting get rid of this fish net looseness? Help!
Kilgore_Trout is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-28-2005, 09:45 AM   #2
kimmie
Turning the Heel

Sorry, I'm not answering your post, but all I could think of was "fishnet" and "trout" and my mind couldn't get back to the real question...
kimmie
kimmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 09:49 AM   #3
Kilgore_Trout
Ribbing the Cuff

Kimmie, yeah that lands me pretty close to the PETA discussion!
Old 05-28-2005, 09:54 AM   #4
Mer
Working the Gusset

When you felt it, it will pull together quite a bit and fill in all the holes. You can always knit up a little swatch using the 2 strands of the yarn with the size 13 needles and try felting that to make sure that it looks the way you'd like!
Mer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 04:31 PM   #5
rebecca
Grafting the Toe