Old 06-11-2005, 05:17 PM   #1
debrtino
Casting On

Help with sweater - too wide
Hello all ~ I am a newbie to this forum, and it looks wonderful! I've looked around and hope I am posting to the correct area - my apologies if not.

I just tried making my first piece of clothing (other than scarfs, of course!), an 'easy Vogue' tank. Unfortunately, it's too wide... about 2 inches too wide on each side! I don't understand, because I checked my gauge, and thought it was right. I also kind of 'tried on' the front piece when it was done and thought it looked okay too. Then, I finished the back piece, placed them together as if to finish the seams and knew I was in trouble. It's made of cotton (which I love), so I tried washing and drying. It did shrink a bit, but more in the length than width - figures, eh?

Other than the width, I really like it. My mom (who has just started knitting again after a long break) suggested maybe I seam the sides, and just stitch the seams flat (as if sewing). I'm afraid it will look bulky or just plain weird if I do that. I also briefly considered using my serger and just serging the seams on the sides like some manufactured sweaters are, but am afraid the stitches will come out. (Can you tell I'm desperate to save this sweater?)

I guess I could chalk it up to a learning experience and give up, but I am new to knitting and it took me a looooooooooooong time to make this!!

Any and all help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your time.

Sincerely,
Deb Corsentino
debrtino@aol.com
debrtino is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-11-2005, 05:28 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts