Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2005, 07:24 PM   #1
stacyo415
Casting On
 
stacyo415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: san francisco
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to stacyo415
Getting a hole when increasing using M1
I'm lifting the bar between 2 stitches with the left needle from the front, then knitting into the back of the stitch, yet it's creating a hole in my work.

any idea what i'm doing wrong?

the pictures shows 3 increases. the middle one looks ok. but not the first and 3rd.

thanks!
Attached Thumbnails:
Click image for larger version

Name:	why_am_i_so_holey.jpg
Views:	428
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	20219  
__________________
http://www.knitkittyknit.com
stacyo415 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-24-2005, 07:45 PM   #2
Ingrid
Moderator
Mod Squad
 
Ingrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pleasant Valley, NY
Posts: 29,583
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
I've done this type of M1 in the past and it's been virtually invisible. Are you sure you got it into the back part of the bar you picked up? It's a pain to do and easy to miss. If you knit into the front, you do get a hole. I'm not questioning your description or ability, but that's the only thing I can think of. :D
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 07:48 PM   #3
knitqueen
Grafting the Toe
 
knitqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 4,246
Thanks: 139
Thanked 148 Times in 132 Posts
I'm using M1 at the moment for sleeves. I pick up the bar from behind using the tip of my left needle, then knit into the front left of the stitch (exactly as you would do a normal knit stitch). It is tricky and very tight sometimes, but I have not had a problem with it leaving holes.

I got these instruction from "The Yarn Girls' Guide to Simple Knits".
knitqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 08:07 PM   #4
Aby
Knitting the Flap
 
Aby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Aby Send a message via AIM to Aby Send a message via Yahoo to Aby
That sounds about right. I made that mistake my first time, too. I knit into the front like normal instead of knitting into the back of the loop and sure enough, I got holes. That's why I love this site.. I was able to find out what I was doing wrong! I LOVE these gals!!!
__________________
"the butter wouldn't melt so I put it in a pie"
http://www.livejournal.com/users/spankzilla/
http://intheclique.com/
Aby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 01:21 PM   #5
stacyo415
Casting On
 
stacyo415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: san francisco
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to stacyo415
thanks. i must have been picking up the thread between the stitches from the back and knitting tbl -- which caused the holes. i've ripped back and redid the increases and they are not holey!

thanks for your help.
__________________
http://www.knitkittyknit.com
stacyo415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to leave a larger hole in a work for an arm hole? dclifford3 How-to Questions 6 12-11-2011 04:54 PM
Arm Hole help haleysmommy General Knitting 3 10-11-2009 05:16 PM
extra button hole hole, help! Kilgore_Trout How-to Questions 3 09-27-2005 07:50 AM
I have...a hole! bekahdrmom How-to Questions 3 07-11-2005 10:16 PM
M1 and a hole? 1knittinggrl How-to Questions 2 05-01-2005 07:44 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.