Old 06-28-2005, 09:57 AM   #1
Nuno930
Working the Gusset

Celtic Cables?
Ummmm, are these hard? I know it is all relative... but consider I am an advance beginner to intermediate knitter and I've never done a cable. Am I insane to try these? I mean I would at least try a normal cable first...

http://www.girlfromauntie.com/patter...mpleceltic.php

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-28-2005, 10:25 AM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
I did a pillow with a Celtic knot cable on it (wanted to do the knot, not the whole sweater). The chart was a little different, because there are spaces where there are no stitches. I've trained myself to follow directions blindly and it came out really nice. Reading a cable chart for the first time can be difficult, though. It helps to have some experience with cables so you can look at the symbol and know what they mean rather than having to look at the explanations every time. On the other hand, what have you got to lose?
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 10:47 AM   #3
brendajos
Grafting the Toe

Location: Going through your stash...pay no attention over here
Send a message via Yahoo to brendajos
umm...your mind? that chart scares me!
Old 06-28-2005, 10:52 AM   #4
Silver
Instepping Out

Cables are so easy. They're the easiest thing you can do to make your knitting look complicated. But shhh! Don't tell anyone!

Silver's Sock Classes
Shop: On The Town Knitting Bags, hand made elegant small project bags.
My Blog, Write | KBelle on Ravelry | ComeToSilver on Plurk | Puppies, Jinx & Hex Photos & Videos

Last edited by Silver : 05-23-2007 at 01:00 PM.
Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 11:42 AM   #5
Hildegard_von_Knittin
2nd Sock, I Rock