Old 07-24-2005, 12:48 AM   #1
pigeonz
Casting On

Need desperate help with knitting very first sock, please
:XX: Hello everyone, My name is Melissa.I have been knitting for only 5 yrs now and was wondering if anyone could please help me with this teensy problem? :thinking: I just started knitting my very first sock this past Thursday. Thought it was going great, that is until I saw a How-to tutorial on www.diynet.com Now I just know I am not doing this sock right.
I made a 2 1/2 inch cuff like my LYS sock pattern said to, and then it said to do Stockinette st for about 9 inches. Well, I do not want to make huge socks.
I am just wondering, am I supposed to make the cuff, and then start immediately on the heel flap next, with no plain stockinette stitching anywhere from the cuff to the heel?
Or can I do the cuff and then do Stockinette stitch for about 8 or 9 inches and then do the heel flap?
I would appreciate anyone's help on this as I am now going to have to frog what I have(2 1/2" cuff and about 4" in stockinette st), even though I do not want to rripppittt.
If anyone can help me with this, you can email me at murphsangel66@yahoo.com Thank you all sincerely, Melissa M.

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-24-2005, 01:15 AM   #2
knitqueen
Grafting the Toe

Melissa, it just depends what length of a sock you want!! I am making two pairs of socks right now - one of them is about 1.5" of ribbing, followed by 5" of stockinette before starting the heel flap. It is not an extraordinarily long sock, by any stretch of the imagination, actually I wish I had made it longer. 8-9" total, including cuff, in my opinion is a good length for a sock. If you want an ankle sock, make it a lot shorter, it all depends on your preference. There is no wrong answer!!!