Old 08-09-2005, 09:57 AM   #1
Jamie
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to Jamie Send a message via MSN to Jamie Send a message via Yahoo to Jamie
Very Beginning Knitter--Confused
:thinking:

Hi! My name is Jamie; I'm a university student in Pennsylvania (US).

I am ***just*** learning how to knit. I am new to the point that I am not even sure what terms to use to describe my problems. But, I think that I describe it OK below.

By new, I mean that I learned how to do a slip knot onto my needle two days ago, and yesterday I got my very first "row" of stitches onto the needle. Aka, I have my pretty golden orange needle, which has a number 8 on the silver round end. This needle now has a series of twenty navy blue loops around it which I **believe** are correct stitches. Based on the videos on the website, I have done "Double Cast-On," aka "Long-Tail Cast-On," aka "Continental Cast-On."

Now... I have no idea what to do. I have tried to look at other videos, but there are so many and don't know where to go. Also, in the videos, the knitter already seems to have a few rows. I just have yarn stitched, or cast onto, or whatever, my needle. Nothing more, nothing less.

I am trying to use some books, too. They recommend a knit stitch. My one book, to be precise, says: "Lesson 2: Knit stitch (k)."

I'm sorry for being so confusing. I may just post again in a bit, but hopefully, someone can at least point me to the proper video.

I *have* joined some knitting groups in my area, but none of them meet for about a week, and I am incredibly eager to learn something on my own.

Thank you all for your patience!!!!

~Jamie~
Jamie is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-09-2005, 10:06 AM   #2
Nuno930
Working the Gusset

A "cast on" stitch is basically a fountation... a way to get loops onto the needles. From there you will knit!