Old 08-24-2005, 11:49 PM   #1
amers
Casting On

Need help with increasing
Hi everyone!
I'm very new to the world of knitting. I basically just taught myself to knit (and thanks to this site, I think its working!!!)

I picked up a book that has you practice increasing and decreasing by making these little (or big) beanbag-like balls. (MY kids would love these)

Anyway, I cannot seem to get these increases going. Basically you cast on 6 stitches. Then you increase each stitch by knitting into the back of the same stitch, ending up with 12 stitches. Then you purl into those and the next row increase again getting 24 stitchest etc.... I think I've almost got it, but I have a couple of questions.

1st. It seems like each stitch that I try to increase gets consecutively tighter and tighter to the point where I cannot seem to get my needle through the back of the same stitch. My muscles in my fingers are killing me after trying to do this stitch on and off all day.

2nd. I think this stitch is called a bar increase (at least it seems that way from the description in my book and on this site). I notice in the video here, that the working yarn is wrapped around twice (after knitting into the same stitch). I haven't been able to master this either. Is there a trick to it?

3rd. While knitting into the back of the same stitch, I inevitably have many of my stitches fall off my needles (as I am trying to manipulate them to pick up that stitch). Would bamboo needles help with all this slipping? (I'm using aluminum).

Re-reading my problem here, I'm not sure if I'm making myself clear. :thinking: Basically, should the yarn be that tight? (I've tried casting on so that its not so tight, but that doesn't seem to help). I just feel I've got to be doing something wrong probably making this more difficult than it should be.

TIA
Amy
amers is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!