Old 09-19-2005, 12:05 PM   #1
MttCavin
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to MttCavin
Do I really have to do this?
Hi everyone, I am somewhat new to knitting, and I am making my first sweater. But I don't understand why the pattern is having me do this. I am making the Banff sweater from Knitty.com, and it tells me to work the decrease rows like this: RS decrease row: k2, p1tbl, k2tog; work to last 3 sts; p1tbl, k2 WS decrease row: p2, k1tbl, p2tog tbl; work to last 3 sts; k1tbl; p2

Im confused because it's stockinette fabric, but the pattern says p1tbl on the RS decrease row, and k1tbl on the WS. But when I do this, it gives me a purl bump on the knit side, and a knit stitch in the purl side! Is there are reason why I am doing this? And why do I have to do it before I k/ptog? I hope you can help!

matt
MttCavin is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-19-2005, 12:46 PM   #2
Silver
Instepping Out

Well, the instructions identifies that as a "pattern", so the resulting stitches are supposed to look like that. They will create a pattern in your knitting, and give the peice it's distinguished look that the designer put into it.

If you don't want to do them like that, then decrease however you want to. But, be warned, that the finished result may not be what you wanted.

Silver's Sock Classes
Shop: On The Town Knitting Bags, hand made elegant small project bags.
My Blog, Write | KBelle on Ravelry | ComeToSilver on Plurk | Puppies, Jinx & Hex Photos & Videos
Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 10:37 PM   #3
MttCavin
Casting On