Old 09-24-2005, 09:22 AM   #1
earthchick
Turning the Heel

OMG! The needles make all the difference! (what do you use?
So I'm a novice knitter who learned from a book 3 years ago, and have inconsistently knitted ever since. When I first tried it, I bought some metal needles and found I couldn't work with them. They were too slick for me, and my knitting kept sliding off. I switched to bamboo and have used bamboo ever since. For some reason, I also got the impression that was the preferred choice among most knitters, so I thought they were the "right" needles for me to be using.

Then I read on one of Amy's pages here that she prefers metal. I was having trouble with my size 9 bamboo (maybe b/c one of my cats gnawed on the end? ) so I bought a pair of metal ones yesterday. OMG!!! The difference is huge. I'm knitting so fast now. I started a toddler scarf late last night and am already halfway done. I love the feel of the metal needles sliding against each other. And now that I know more of what I'm doing, I'm not having trouble keeping my stitches on the needles the way I was in the very beginning.

So now I'm wondering if I should switch all my needles to metal (just bought 3 sets of bamboo earlier this week!). What do the rest of you use, and why? Do you prefer to use all the same kind of needles, or do you switch back and forth? Inquiring minds want to know!

earthchicknits
The Seven Things Project
earthchick is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-24-2005, 09:26 AM   #2
Vendie
2nd Sock, I Rock