Old 09-28-2005, 03:17 PM   #1
Sabrina
Casting On

Send a message via ICQ to Sabrina Send a message via MSN to Sabrina
Basic question
Hello everyone,

I'm new to knitting and I'm just dreadful at teaching myself how to knit. I'm completely stuck and seem to end up with big knotty, blobby things that don't look like anything. I'm only partially exaggerating because I haven't ended a project yet!

Supposedly, this is a very basic beginners project that requires me to cast on 66 stitches. This is for a scarf, by the way. Now, it's knit 2, purl 2 all the way across until I end up with 52 inches of scarf. The casting on is fine, the knit is fine, the purl is fine. HOWEVER, when I switch from knitting to purl, I no longer get the pretty stitches I once had, but it's a cross over stitch on top. It looks like an X where the stitches should look like: l l l l l l l. What am I doing wrong?

I watched the knitting and purling videos where she seems to be holding up the string above the needles. I tried that and this is what I get. I'm very discouraged by this very simple pattern. Please help!

Thank you in advance.
Sabrina is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-28-2005, 03:31 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
It sounds like you're putting your yarn over your needle when you switch back and forth. Put the yarn between the needles when you switch from knit to purl, see if that makes a difference.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 10:18 AM   #3
Sabrina
Casting On