Old 09-30-2005, 10:52 AM   #1
bubbajune
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to bubbajune
new to knitting, but love it, have a question!
Just want to say this is an incredible site and I love it. I am new to knitting, but I have been crocheting for about 20 years. Knitting is different though. I have knitted about five scarves, real simple patterns, just a nice garter stitch. I think I have my tension right and understand most of the patterns. I recently bought a book by recommendation to try to make the Einstein coat. Looks fairly easy, but I don't get the slip stitch that starts each row. The pattern tells me to do a purl wise slip stitch with the yarn in front for the first stitch. I understand the purl wise slip stitch, but I don't get why or how to put the yarn in front when I am starting the row. After the first stitch you are supposed to put the yarn in back again and knit the rest of the row. Can someone explain this to me or give me any suggestions? Thanks!

:XX:
bubbajune is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-30-2005, 11:04 AM   #2
brendajos
Grafting the Toe

Location: Going through your stash...pay no attention over here
Send a message via Yahoo to brendajos
well i haven't seen this coat pattern though i have heard a lot about it. If i am reading what you are saying correctly you are basically doing a garter stitch on this coat correct? (knitting every row?)