Old 10-10-2005, 03:46 AM   #1
Sascha
Ribbing the Cuff

A Little help for new knitter
Hello everyone! I am new to knitting and new to this board and I am in

I purchased a kniting supply set (a cheap one) and some homespun yarn. I am getting fusterated because even though I am not trying to make anything in particular, it just doesn't seem to look like I think it should look (I cast on do one row and then end up starting over, ive done this 5 times already). I was wondering if its the yarn? What kind of yarn can I get that will let me see exactly what I am doing? Something good for a beginner to use? Also can you recommend a good first project to try, I was thinking just a plain old scarf but maybe someone has a more fun idea. And one last question, do you have any advice for me that you wish you would have had when you started out?

I feel so slow, one of the ladies on this forum has only been knitting a week and has already made 2 hats..I can't even get past row 2! Whats wrong with me?

Thank you so much! (hugs)

Sascha :XX:
Sascha is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-10-2005, 04:07 AM   #2
susies1955
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to susies1955
Sascha,
I'm the new knitter that has done two hats. I just wanted you to know that it did NOT come easy and I spent a LOT of time with those two hats. I had more problems than you can imagine. I'm what they call an OVER ACHIEVER so when I start something I go gun ho at it.
I spent a lot of time reading, asking questions here and other places, emailed my teachers, went to my knitting neighbor and watched the videos from this forum home site:
http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/getting_started/
Don't ever thing because someone gets something done that they didn't have a b*tch of a time.