Old 10-16-2005, 08:36 PM   #1
Dynasty
Casting On

Type of yarn
I'm new to knitting... what I didn't realize was, the pattern asked for a specific yarn called "Worsted". I'm making my first scarf..I picked out the kinda yarn my daughter liked. There's 1 main color I picked "Chunky weight 2.8 oz" and the other 2 colors for the stripes I bought "Knitting Worsted weight 1 3/4 oz)
The actual pattern calls for Worsted yarn...does it really matter?
Dynasty is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-16-2005, 08:42 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
Yes. If you want the scarf to be the same measurements called for in the pattern, you need to use the same weight yarn. You can use fewer stitches across and make it out of chunky, but you'll have to double the worsted to make it about the same weight as the chunky yarn. If you use the worsted as a single strand, the scarf will pull in at the stripes.

Cast on about half of the stitches called for in the pattern and see if that's wide enough. You can adjust it. If you had a sweater pattern written for worsted and you tried it with chunky, it would be a major headache. Scarves are pretty flexible.

If you decide to go with the chunky, you should probably use a larger needle, too, or the fabric will be too stiff. Knit a little swatch and see if you like it.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:42 PM   #3
Julie
Instepping Out