Old 12-21-2005, 10:39 AM   #1
Ronda
Instepping Out

Send a message via MSN to Ronda Send a message via Yahoo to Ronda
Putting 24 stitches back on needle
DD wants me to do a scarf for her - yesterday. I figured I could quickly whip up a k2 p2 patterned scarf. I'm chugging along and somehow slipped a stitch and could not figure out what I had done wrong or how to get it back on the needle. I decided to frog a bit and now I cannot figure out how to get my needle back in all the stitches! (Remember, I'm new to this, and all my scarves have been garter stitch so far.) Is there any easy way to explain to me how to get those stitches back on? I'm not too far into it so I could start over again, but if I can save the work I've done so far, that would be best. After all, she wants it done ASAP!!!
Ronda is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-21-2005, 10:44 AM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
Your best bet for ribbing is to rip it out until you get to a row that you know is 'good'. You might be able to get your needle into those stitches--which can be surprisingly easy sometimes, depending on the yarn and needle size.

If you don't think that will work, then pull out your yarn, one stitch at a time and insert your needle into the loop as soon as the yarn pops out. Don't worry about which direction you put the needle in. You can correct any stitches that you picked up backwards on the next row. The main thing is to get them all on the needle.

Once they are on, as you knit the next row, if a stitch is twisted--you can tell because it just doesn't 'feel' right when you put your needle in, you can just slip it off and put it back on the needle the right way and continue on your way.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry