Old 12-29-2005, 01:42 AM   #1
artistic_alexis
Casting On

Send a message via Yahoo to artistic_alexis
Starting A Business
Hello all,

I'm brand new to knitting, but have been doing some form of creative crafts and art for years! I went to an arts High School and am just one of those artsy-fartsy types. I'm learning how to knit because it's something I've wanted to learn, but also to start my own business in the future when I get good enough at making things. I have two serious chronic illnesses and can't work outside of the home. Being only 22, and needing to pay the bills, I thought this would be a great way to do something when I feel sicky on the couch and make some moola.

Has anyone else started or have any tips on having a knits business? My amazing boyfriend is learning to crochet to help with this business idea. His ex wife and him used to have a candle business and sold at craft shows in our area. They shared a booth once with these two college students who made hats by knitting and crocheting and did extremely well at the shows. I also used to Role Play (I'm such a nerd) and went to conventions and thought that I could also sell in their dealer's rooms. They usually have cheap entrance fees for the dealer's room, and I know that some of the knit clothing I could make would do extremely well there.

So what do you guys think? Any tips or ideas to help a newbie out who's trying to learn professional quality knitting? Anyone ever have a knitting business that didn't do so well? Let me know! THANKS SO MUCH!

Alexis

PS Thank You for this GREAT AMAZING SITE!

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 12-29-2005, 03:34 PM   #2
amy
Administrator
Site Admin

Hi Alexis,

I think you've got a good idea to do fairs and shows. It can be hard to get people pay what an item is worth. My advice is: