Old 01-13-2006, 11:44 AM   #1
suz
Casting On

knitting in ireland, 1936
hello knitters,
i'm researching knitting in ireland (donegal) in 1936.. i'm doing a play where my character makes her living knitting gloves.. any books, websites, etc. that anyone could recommend that would give details would be most helpful... i'm new to knitting and have been learning english style... i wonder if this is wrong for ireland??!! would they have knitted in the round or used two needles?? any other specifics would be great!!

thanks, suzanne
suz is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-13-2006, 12:46 PM   #2
kemp
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via ICQ to kemp Send a message via AIM to kemp Send a message via Yahoo to kemp
there are a few knitting history type books at the library. Online, most of the historical knit stuff I have seen applies to Shetland Scotland.
kemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 12:59 PM   #3
amy
Administrator
Site Admin

She would definitely knit in the round, not knit flat on two needles and seam, if she did it for a living. The traditional way of knitting in the round is to use Double Pointed Needles (DPN's). Wooden or Bamboo (which look like wood) needles would look authentic. I'm not sure when circular needles were invented, it was probably around that time, but I'd say they were used primarily for hats and larger things in the round. I think Magic loop knitting and knitting on 2 circular needles are newer concepts.

So, I'd say if you want to look authentic, watch the video in Advanced Techniques on how to knit with DPN's (it's not that hard, looks harder than it is), and get some bamboo DPN's, which look just like wood. They'll look impressive and also authentic, and be nice to knit with.