Old 01-21-2006, 04:58 PM   #1
chloe2804
Casting On

converting a straight needle pattern to circular knitting
The sweater pattern is written for straight needles. I would like to knit it as a tube. What do I have to do? Its a sweater for my best friend's birthday so she picked the pattern and yarn (so I know that she will like it.) Do I just :

1) mark the beginning.
2) omit the 4 selvedge stitiches?
3) when I get to armhole shaping do I go on to straights or can I keep them on circulars and use 2 balls of yarn (1 for front and back?)

Is this correct? or there other secrets that I need to know?

I don't think I could possbily convert it to a "knit from the top" sweater. I am a novice knitter and a math idiot. Hopefully someday in the future.

Carol
chloe2804 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 01-21-2006, 05:21 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
Sounds like you've got the right idea. Eliminate the selvedge stitches and knit in the round up to the armholes. At this point you can divide front and back and knit them straight--on circs if you want--one for the front and one for the back. At this point you'd have to work back and forth.

Or if you're feeling daring, you can do steeks--you add extra stitches for the armholes and then sew and cut them when they're the right height. But since you say you're a novice knitter you might want to save steeks for later.

If you want to do them, here is a thread where I showed a sweater using steeks.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 06:57 PM   #3
chloe2804
Casting On