Old 02-03-2006, 08:02 PM   #1
ecuzzacrea
Knitting the Flap

Send a message via AIM to ecuzzacrea
Talk to me about dying your own yarn please
i'd love to try it out and i was thinking about ordering some of that plain yarn from Knit Picks.

i'm a painter and paper crafter so i love colors and this seems really fun.

so, what do i need and what do i do?
ecuzzacrea is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-03-2006, 09:05 PM   #2
punkhippiemom
Instepping Out

There's a lot of different ways to dye your own yarn, but probably the easiest and least expensive (and least hazardous!! ) is to use food colors, or drink mix...
Here's a great article from Knitty.com on how to do it - although, from what I've heard since, you can dye cotton and synthetics, the color just doesn't come out as bright.

Enjoy!!

My Patterns - so far
Last Minute Scarf,Sideways Rib Reversible Scarf, Trinity's Top, Hunter's Itty Bitty Baby Socks
punkhippiemom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 10:59 AM   #3
Arugula
1st Leg of the Journey

A non-protein fiber is not really dyed but rather stained with food coloring/koolaid. So not only will it be more pale, it will also fade considerably over time. This site explains that:

dyeing fiber