Old 02-28-2006, 06:06 PM   #1
Yogamommi
Casting On

Knitting Fingers
I am new to knitting and I hold the yarn in my right hand. I'm noticing that I'm getting a callous (which is sore) on my right index finger. Is this supposed to happen? :thinking: If so does anyone have any ideas of what to do or is this part of knitting that gets better over time?
Yogamommi is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 02-28-2006, 07:26 PM   #2
knittingachiever
Knitting the Flap

Is it where the yarn drapes over your finger to hold tension?

The same thing has happened to me, but now I'm calloused like a bass player and I can't feel a thing, so it should get better. If it gets raw, try some triple antibiotic ointment on it overnight.

I had a sore finger experience just recently when I broke out a set of vintage plastic dpns from my late grandmother's cache. They're really sharp, and I got a raw sore spot on the tip of my finger where I'd brace the needle tip to scooch the loops up. Youch!
knittingachiever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:30 PM   #3
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,240 Times in 1,837 Posts
I have callouses from knitting, too. If I'm working on a long project, I'll build them up in particular spots. I've had to use bandaids for very sharp needles because I must be consistent--I'd poke the same sore spot every single time!
Protect it while it's raw, and your skin will get used to it.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:37 PM   #4
aylaanne
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to aylaanne Send a message via MSN to aylaanne Send a message via Yahoo to aylaanne