Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2006, 12:36 AM   #1
mks22300
Instepping Out
 
mks22300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western New York
Posts: 2,127
Thanks: 200
Thanked 640 Times in 626 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mks22300
How do you a swatch...
When your pattern is done in the round? TIA!!
__________________
Addicted to:
Harry Potter, Knitting, LOTR, Star Wars, Lost, shoes, and CHOCOLATE!

I'm mks22300 at ravelry
mks22300 is offline   Reply With Quote

 

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 03-20-2006, 01:28 AM   #2
Friskums
 
Posts: n/a
Knitting a gauge swatch in the round can be a pain. You have to work on it twice as long to end up with the same width to measure as a flat swatch: an 8" circular swatch is 4" when flattened to be measured. There are two ways around this:

1) Knit a 5" circumference circular swatch (make it a good 3" - 4" tall) and then cut it once down the side so it's 5" wide flattened. You can't rip out the swatch to use the yarn in a shortage emergency (without a ton of ends to weave in!), but it works.

2) Make a flat no purl stockinette swatch (aka faux in-the-round swatch) with circular needles or double-pointed needles.

Instructions: Cast on a likely number of sts to equal approx 5" and knit a few rows of garter stitch to prevent curling. Now you're going to switch to faux in-the-round stockinette. Knit a complete right side row. Slide the sts to the opposite end of the circular/dpn and place that needle in your left hand. Strand the yarn very loosely behind the swatch and knit another row. Repeat until you swatch is at least 3" - 4" tall and finish off with a few more rows of garter stitch. Look ma, no purls!

This is a lot like making i-cord but you don't pull that stranded yarn tight, it has to be VERY loose to avoid distorting the swatch when it's being measured. The edge stitches are sloppy and must be avoided when measuring for gauge but that's OK, this is a swatch and not a work of art.

Optional: You can cut the yarn at the end of every row to avoid stranding it behind the swatch but that renders the yarn almost useless for shortage emergencies.


Info from here
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 09:36 PM   #3
mks22300
Instepping Out
 
mks22300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Western New York
Posts: 2,127
Thanks: 200
Thanked 640 Times in 626 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mks22300
Egads! That sounds like a pain the backside!
Thanks so much frisky_kittie!
__________________
Addicted to:
Harry Potter, Knitting, LOTR, Star Wars, Lost, shoes, and CHOCOLATE!

I'm mks22300 at ravelry
mks22300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 11:39 PM   #4
Friskums
 
Posts: n/a
Nah, it's not that bad. Just takes a little longer than normal.

I hate how the edges look though. Much much too sloppy for my tastes. But I frogged it anyway. Hehehe..
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with swatch Christinechrstms1 General Knitting 12 06-10-2012 10:28 AM
Do you swatch? Marria General Knitting 19 02-21-2009 07:33 PM
doing a swatch Ginnyb General Knitting 3 09-24-2008 01:13 PM
Which swatch? cookworm General Knitting 6 12-28-2006 11:27 AM
Swatch help please! wabbit How-to Questions 11 09-16-2005 03:34 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.