Old 04-05-2006, 10:50 PM   #1
Shandeh
Sock Yarn Bliss

Thanked 2,843 Times in 1,908 Posts
Don't forget why you started knitting!
I've been knitting now for about 3 years, learning the stitches and techniques. I started out making those furry scarves that were all the rage last year. I think I sold about 30 of them! Now, I am sick of making those, and I completely ignore the eyelash yarn section at the craft store.

Recently, I started knitting the "Irish Hiking Scarf", and it was so satisfying to see the cables and texture of the yarn. Yesterday, I was at a restaurant, waiting for my husband to get there (he was driving from work). I was sitting on a bench at the front of the restaurant, working on my scarf, and several people came over and talked to me about my knitting. They were impressed with the cables and texture too.

Then it struck me.....THIS is the kind of knitting I always wanted to learn. THIS is the reason I started knitting in the first place!

So...I think I should make a decision to continue pursuing the "textural" patterns, since that's what gives me the most satisfaction. Following trends and "new" yarns has gotten me sidetracked. Time to get back to what I really want.
Shandeh is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-05-2006, 10:52 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
Absolutely! If you don't love what you're making, what's the point?

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 10:53 PM   #3
jamadian75
Working the Gusset

Send a message via AIM to jamadian75 Send a message via MSN to jamadian75
Here here!!

I just love that this "craft" can still have new discoveries (or re-discoveries) to it even after doing it for some time.