Old 04-16-2006, 01:02 AM   #1
SydneyLove
Casting On

Beginner. Please help with pattern!
Okay so I've been knitting for about 8 months. I've done scarves, cloths and even tried a chemo hat. So I've decided to move on and do a sweater. I did the back piece but the the instructions for the rest is like reading alien. Can someone please explain this me in really simple english? I need so much help... Here's the pattern...

STRIPE PATTERN
Rows 1 & 3 (RS) : K.
Rows 2 & 4: P.
Rows 5 & 6: K.
Rows 7 & 9: K.
Rows 8 & 10: P.
Rows 11-16: K.
Rep Rows 1-16 for Stripe Pat
This I get!

FRONT:
Work as for back until 24 (25, 25)" from beg, end WS.
Shape neck: Next row (RS) : Keeping to Stripe Pat, work 44 (48, 50) sts, attach new skein of yarn, work center 11 (12, 13) sts and place on holder, work rem 44 (48, 50) sts. Working both sides at the same time with separate skeins of yarn, at each neck edge bind off 3 sts 2 times, 2 sts 3 (4, 4) times and 1 st 2 times. Work even in Stripe Pat until front meas same as back to shoulders. Bind off rem 30 (32, 34) sts each side.

I get work same as back but the shape Neck is where they lose me. Do I continue to do the stripe pattern only for the 48 sts and then with the 12 sts I place a holder? What happens to the 44 stst they stay loose? See I'm all confused about the whole thing.

SLEEVES:
With straight ndls, cast on 39 (39, 41) sts. Beg with Row 1 work in Stripe Pat inc 1 st each end every 5 rows 20 (21, 21) times, then every 4 rows 10 (11, 12) times-99 (103, 107) sts. Cont even in Stripe Pat until sleeve meas 20 (21, 21)" from beg. Bind off.

I thought this would be easy but again have no idea what this means esp. whe they start talking about 5 rows 21 times each. then every 4 rows 11 times eacg and then it says some about 103 stst? What does this all mean?

FINISHING:
Sew front and back at shoulders.