Old 04-17-2006, 10:50 PM   #1
teraberb
Casting On

could these pass as being hand knit?
I'm a photographer and I am working on a project for a knitting store/coffee shop here in my town. I will be decorating their walls with pictures I've taken- all babies and kids wearing knit or crochet items. I just learned to knit myself a few weeks ago, so I'm new to all the knit stuff. Anyway, here's my question- could the items in these pictures pass as being hand knit? I'm fairly sure they were store bought, but I do like the pictures and I'm in need of more boys ones. So could things like this be made by hand, or are they obviously store bought?

Thanks for your help!
Tera
Attached Thumbnails:
Click image for larger version

Name:	knit2_373.jpg
Views:	788
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	26837  Click image for larger version

Name:	knit1.jpg
Views:	788
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	26838  
teraberb is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-17-2006, 10:54 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
The bottom one definitely could. (Except that a REALLY experienced knitter might notice the edge of the ribbing and I don't think that's possible unless you use a machine--not positive, though.) The top one looks like it's lined, and most knitters don't do that, though it's possible.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 08:27 AM   #3
Cristy
Instepping Out

good eye ingrid...I didn't even see the lining. I was worried that the second one looked too perfect...

Cristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2006, 09:11 AM   #4
cheesiesmom
Turning the Heel