Old 04-19-2006, 08:24 AM   #1
Louine
1st Leg of the Journey

Send a message via AIM to Louine
First pair of socks....
I had wondered what all the excitement of knitting socks was all about....First I live in the south....my students were flip flops all year long (actually I really don't see all year long but they say "we live at the beach") and I don't wear closed in shoes much, and those little tiny needles spelled too much work.....however, I went to my LYS yesterday (30 miles) away and fell in love with the new yarns. So, I started my first pair of socks.
I have a question?
This is my first time with using DP kneedles for mor than I cord and once for the crown of a hat....and it seems so awkward to me. I am having trouble learning to hold the kneedles....I am an English knitter.....any suggestions or is it just something that I will get the feel of after a while.....I am moving very slow.....1 1/4 inches of ribbing is all I have so far.

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-19-2006, 08:37 AM   #2
Celine
Turning the Heel

Welcome
I wecome you to the wonderful world of sock knitting!! It is addicting! I learned how to knit socks in October and learned the "Toe Up" method, so I did not have to use the dpn right away and I think that helped me a lot. Now I can knit a pair in a few days if I really had too!! :XX: :XX:

I'm sure someone here will help you out with your question. Welcome again! :D
Celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 09:13 AM   #3
kemp
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via ICQ to kemp Send a message via AIM to kemp Send a message via Yahoo to kemp