Old 04-24-2006, 12:58 PM   #1
susi
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to susi
kids knitting needles
hello,

my 3 year old son has started to try and 'help' me knit. does anyone know where i can buy him some needles that are small enough to let him learn please?

also any patterns (i'm still learning myself so am not great at helping him out)

any ideas greatfully recieved

susi
susi is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-24-2006, 01:06 PM   #2
Cristy
Instepping Out

Lion brand makes some that the local craft stores in my area carry (Joanns and Michaels)...they have teddy bears on them and come in red or blue plastic. HTHs.

Cristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 01:17 PM   #3
cozy
Knitting the Flap

Yes, Cristy, those are the ones I bought my dd to teach her to knit with & they're great. Her set was 1 red needle, 1 blue needle to make it easier to instruct--instead of saying left & right needle. They're plastic & cheap.

As for patterns, how about something all garter stitch to make it easy? Dishcloth maybe?

Knitting Addict since November '03
cozy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 01:24 PM   #4
Cristy
Instepping Out

come to think of it...you're right...they are red and blue--one of each. A dishcloth is a good idea...so is a scarf or garter dog collar...something small...

my dd is 3 and she wants to do it but I don't think she's ready to learn yet...she doesn't seem to grasp it yet.

Cristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2006, 01:29 PM   #5
nicolethegeek
Instepping Out