Old 04-28-2006, 11:39 AM   #1
Roberta
Casting On

Advice about circular needles
I am knitting dog sweater and I have to knit the collar with size 8 16" circular needles.

I don't own any circular needles. This is my first project that requires circular needles. I am sure that in future I will need circular needles again, and I am sure that I won't need the same size or length. My question is, should I buy the size 8 16" circular needles now for this project or should I buy interchangeable needle system and have almost all the sizes and lengths for future projects?

I am looking at Boye NeedleMaster Interchaneable Needle System that has knitting needle sizes from 2 to 15, and cable lengths in different sizes. Can you tell me from your experience what is the best thing to do?

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 04-28-2006, 11:41 AM   #2
Teiris
Ribbing the Cuff

Send a message via AIM to Teiris Send a message via MSN to Teiris
I've never used circulars or interchangeables, but I can direct you to this post: http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting...pic.php?t=2062
That has a whole bunch of info on interchangeables I admit, I'd probably be drawn to the convienience of interchangeables...
Teiris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 11:42 AM   #3
brendajos
Grafting the Toe

Location: Going through your stash...pay no attention over here
Send a message via Yahoo to brendajos
well i would say go with the interchangeables. it won't cover ALL your needs but many of them.

however the Boye set doesn't have a size that will make a 16" circ. You would have to get the Denise set for that.

the denise set doesn't have as wide a range of sizes but it does have more length possibilities and i think it has way better joins than the Boye set has.

there are pros and cons to both sets but for that specific project the Denise set is the only one that would work.
Old 04-28-2006, 01:49 PM   #4
Roberta
Casting On