Old 05-16-2006, 09:18 AM   #1
wandawoman3
Ribbing the Cuff

Baby/toddler Poncho
How many stitches do cast on for a almost 4 yr old? (petit 4 yr old)

I'm very new to knitting and my little girl wants a poncho.

Thank you.
Wanda
wandawoman3 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-16-2006, 09:37 AM   #2
bethie
Ribbing the Cuff

welcome, i am new here as well.

I do know part of the answer to your question. How many stitches to cast on depends on what size needles you are using as different size needles are going to give you a different gauge, i.e. different amount of stitches per inch.

what size needles are you using?

also what kind of yarn did you buy? The yarn label should have the recommended needle size to use as well as the gauge.

You can figure out how many inches long you want your poncho (i.e. 36 inches) to be and use the guage to help you cast on your stitches...
bethie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2006, 09:42 AM   #3
wandawoman3
Ribbing the Cuff

I have size 9 needles. I haven't worked with any other size yet. But I have size 11 and 13. So if I knit on the biger needles does it make it faster work? Told you I was new. I just learned to purl last week.
Old 05-16-2006, 09:44 AM   #4
wandawoman3
Ribbing the Cuff

Sorry, I didn't finish answering your questions. I bought Caron one pound. And I don't know how to do a gauge.
Old 05-16-2006, 10:07 AM   #5
bethie
Ribbing the Cuff

Hopefully a more experienced knitter will step in and answer your questions as I am a very eager learner but have only been knitting for a month or so and just finished my first projects that were given to my mom and mother-in-law for mother's day...

Size 9 needles are good. Yes, larger size needles will get your project done quicker because bigger needles yield bigger stitches (more stitches per inch)