Old 05-19-2006, 02:46 PM   #1
lcmart
Casting On

Which method to use? English or Continental for newbie?
Hello everyone,

Since I am a newbie, should I learn the English or the Continental method to begin with? I would like to learn one really well and start off on the right foot along with what is easiest for a beginner. Thank you again. I am so excited to get started but am nervous about starting off wrong.
lcmart is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-19-2006, 03:01 PM   #2
Ingrid
Mod Squad

Thanked 2,241 Times in 1,838 Posts
There is no right or wrong. I learned English when I was a child, and I still think children can learn it better. However, adults can understand the process better so either will work. Some say Continental is faster, but since I've knit English so long, any other way doesn't feel like 'knitting' to me.

Try both and see which feels more comfortable to you. Crocheters often like continental because the yarn is held in the left hand for both.

Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.

Hop aboard while we follow the cloud-covered van of knitting harmony, man!! Woooo!! --Hedgehog

IngridKH on Ravelry
Ingrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 03:02 PM   #3
tab
Knitting the Flap

Send a message via AIM to tab
Different people find the different methods easier. My great aunt uses the English method, and that's what I learned. I've tried learning Continental, but I find it's a bit harder on my wrists. I know I've heard stories of people who were struggling with knitting English style and then 'clicked' when they tried Conti, and vice versa. I suggest you try your hand at both, and stick with the one that you find most comfortable.
Old 05-19-2006, 03:25 PM   #4
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,744 Times in 7,115 Posts