Old 05-24-2006, 05:21 PM   #1
sop 1
1st Leg of the Journey

Joining Shoulder Seams
I just completed my first sweater(**), a miracle in itself, and need finishing help. It is a one piece front and back child's sweater; no separate arms. the arms are just added on each end when you get to that point in the St st from the bottom up.The side finishing was nice and hidden (mattress stitch )but the shoulder seams look pretty rough since the colums were meeting each other rather than side by side! I have started another just like the first one and would like to do a better job. Any suggestions would be very welcome. I am a "self taught" beginner plus! I have knit hats on circular needles successfully and millions of scarves!
** actually my first sweater was horrible....so stretched and huge it would fit our car!!! I keep it as a symbol of my determination to learn this art form!!
sop 1 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 05-24-2006, 05:26 PM   #2
knitqueen
Grafting the Toe

Shoulder seams are finished the neatest when using 3 needle bind off or kitchener stitch. Both work with live stitches on the needles so you can't bind those stitches off first if you want either of these two methods to work. The 3 needle bind off does show a 'seam' but it is very finished looking and as long as you have the exact same # of stitches on the front and back, the stitches will line up perfectly and will look very neat. The kitchener stitch is a seamless finished look, you also require the same # of stitches on front and back.

There are videos for both methods here under the heading 'Finishing':
http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting...iques/misc.php
Old 05-24-2006, 05:59 PM   #3
Hepsibah
Ribbing the Cuff