Old 06-19-2006, 10:04 AM   #1
mulene
Working the Gusset

Some advice needed?
I have in my mind a pattern. Well its an idea of a pattern actually, I have something I want to re-create - it is currently in material form and sewn but I am pretty positive I can transport it into knitwear and there are some changes to it that I want to make. It is from an old 1940's object that was made in a mend and make do way - and it is rather delicate these days.

Apart from trying different yarns, with different needle sizes and stitch patterns in swatches before starting, is there anything else I should know about knitwear design? Are there any real basic nono's that I should avoid?

I've never written a pattern before, so is there anything I should specifically do when trying this thing out and after it is completed, should I have another knitter test it?

I have the two books by Pat Ashforth & Steve Plummer (creating knitwear designs and making knitwear fit) which are pretty helpful, but wondered if anyone had any solid advice / solid do not's for me before I start on this road?

I realise this could be a bit like asking the proverbial "how long is a piece of string" question - but hopefully it isn't

My First Finished Project in 20 years!: Sirdar Foxy Scarf!

mulene is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 06-19-2006, 10:07 AM   #2
dustinac
2nd Sock, I Rock

Thanked 4,204 Times in 2,997 Posts
I can't help you with the pattern part cause I've never written one but I think you should go for it please have other knitters test it..