Old 07-10-2006, 02:34 AM   #1
jjminarcik
Turning the Heel

Beginning knitter's probably dumb yarn question. . .
Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to say I am a month-long self-taught knitter that learned through this site. I have read the forums and found answers to many of my beginner questions. But I have one that I can't seem to find an answer to. . .

I found a pattern for a baby blanket that I would like to make for my niece or nephew that will be arriving in November. The pattern is very simple, but here it what it calls for:

Yarn: Seven balls of double knit yarn (approximately 1,050 yards)
Knitting needles: 4.50 mm/ 7 US OR SIZE TO OBTAIN TENSION
Tension: 1" = 5 stitches using garter stitch.

What is double knit yarn?? I think I looked at every kind of yarn today and still can't figure it out!! Is this a type? Brand? Am I missing something? Or am I lacking more sleep than I think??

Please help! Thank you!

PS-I can post pictures of my small completed projects, but my camera is mad at me right now.
jjminarcik is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 07-10-2006, 02:58 AM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,729 Times in 7,102 Posts
Double Knit is also and more commonly called DK weight. It's a light worsted. Here is a guide to give you some idea.

Standard Yarn Weight System

Most yarns have the symbol shown on the yarn guide and it will also give you the recommended needle size for the project. That info should be on your pattern, too and I'd follow it unless you use a different yarn weight.

Welcome to the forum!

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:23 AM   #3
isaiah507
Ribbing the Cuff