Old 08-22-2006, 12:33 PM   #1
domiknitrix
1st Leg of the Journey

Swatch - Wash or not to wash
I have no idea, I have made the guage for the sweater and I saw somewhere were someone said they washed their swatch, but than I notice some say they swatch and don't mention washing the fabric. If the project doesn't mention it - does that mean I am suppose to just do the swatch check the guage and leave it alone?

Also, after knitting the sweater or any knit object are we suppose to wash it?

Thanks

www.knitsy.blogspot.com
I am Urbanknitrix on Ravelry
domiknitrix is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-22-2006, 01:15 PM   #2
KristiMetz
Knitting the Flap

I'm no expert, but I have seen several people who ARE experts say you should definitely wash your wash, if the gauge and fit are going to be important.

HTH!
KristiMetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 01:52 PM   #3
AidanM
Turning the Heel

If you plan to wash your sweater, you should wash it in the manner that you would wash your sweater.

If you are using a wool product that does not say "Superwash" on it or is not blended with acrylic, some other synthetic fiber, or cotton, you should handwash your garment. Handwashing alos prolongs the life of any fiber.

Fill your bathtub or your washing machine with luke warm water, dissolve a VERY GENTLE soap in the water. Some people like to use Euclan or some other wool-friendly soap. Some people just use a mild shampoo. Swish the soap around to let it fully dissolve. Place your garment in the water and allow it to soak.
DO NOT AGITATE
DO NOT POUR WATER ON TOP
These things will cause the wooly fibers to open up, rub together, and start to lock together, creating a fabric knows as felt. This is the process which causes woolens to SHRINK. Sometimes this is okay, as in making a purse. Mostly, it is not desired.