Old 08-29-2006, 01:37 PM   #1
Shawna_Gumdrop
Casting On

Send a message via AIM to Shawna_Gumdrop
Single Loop Help
Hi, um first I'd like to say that I'm new here. I've been knitting for 5 years now and I'm 15 years old. I love to act in different productions, mostly plays, but musical theatre is just as good. I have another passion for choir because there is so much beyond just singing there has to be an imagination and determination to teach it. I have 6 domesticated birds and among them a cockatoo. I've started an on going knitting disease in the acting world in my school and I knit "Senior Scarves" which are special hand-knit scarves for the seniors involved in the drama program(s).

Well my problem. Though I keep trying and I'm doing everything right ever time I go to make the first row of loops it works! Then when I start on the next row the loops just come undone and if i keep doing it and pull of the work to test tightness it all just falls apart and because a mess pile of yarn. I've tried several times. Is there a clue to how to do this correctly? Thanks guys!
Shawna "Gumdrop"

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 08-29-2006, 02:01 PM   #2
kemp
Grafting the Toe

Send a message via ICQ to kemp Send a message via AIM to kemp Send a message via Yahoo to kemp
What type of cast on do you do? Maybe a different one would help.
kemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:18 PM   #3
rebecca
Grafting the Toe

Welcome to the forum and Kudos to you for knitting for your friends and getting them hooked on knitting!
I find that when I knit something with the loop stitch I knit 2 rounds or rows of knitting between the loop sts, this will help stabilize the loops so that this pulling out of the loops won't happen...you will still have a nice loopy effect, as you can see here in the Loopy Socks.

"I can do everything through Him who gives me strength."

Whimsical Knitting
Whimsical Knitting Designs