Old 09-03-2006, 07:21 PM   #1
aineepooh1
Working the Gusset

I don't like worsted weight yarns!
I am a beginner who has been knitting for 2 whole months. I have discoverd by trial and error that I PREFER chunky and superchunky yarns and needles. I bought some worsted weight yarns and size 8 circular needles over the weekend and tried them out. They are ok.. but I prefer the big, easy, chunky yarns and big, easy, chunky needles. I know many projects are designed fo rthe worsted weight which is the average wt for a yarn and size 8 needles.. but I don't like them as welll.!!! I want my big fat, yarn!!
aineepooh1 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-03-2006, 07:34 PM   #2
aylaanne
Turning the Heel

Send a message via AIM to aylaanne Send a message via MSN to aylaanne Send a message via Yahoo to aylaanne
Hey, more power to you. I have a lot of chunky yarn, and I prefer that for some projects (I don't really want to try to knit an adult afgan out of WW yarn)....but then I learned how to knit lace, and, well.....we won't talk about it.

In the queue:
Jack Skellington baby afghan
Finished: Warm Up America Square, Basketweave Baby Blanket (now to ship it), Massachusetts Dishcloth for the Yarn Harlot, Homeless Hat
, water bottle cozy

aylaanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:35 PM   #3
Celine
Turning the Heel

Good to know
Well thats good you know what you like. There are plenty of thick and chunky yarns out there. I too like to use some of them for certain things I'm knitting.

If you ever run out of ideas there are knitting books out there just for using chunky yarns.
Celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2006, 07:38 PM   #4
suzeeq
Knit On!

Thanked 6,451 Times in 6,035 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to suzeeq