Old 09-11-2006, 02:09 PM   #1
tmay
Casting On

Knit or Purl row? how to tell?
Hi,

I am new, but I have been reading here for a couple days. I am pretty new to knitting other than making scarves when I was a kid. I just had to rip out several rows of a little doll dress that I am working on. The area that I am working on is knit one row, purl the next. I was keeping track on a row counter. Now I don't know where I am. Yesterday I read somewhere here how you can tell if you are just coming off a purl row or a knit row. Now I can't find where I read it!! Can anyone help me?

May
tmay is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 09-11-2006, 02:44 PM   #2
MAmaDawn
Working the Gusset

Look at the work as if you are going to start the next row. If you see a bunch of flat v's then you knit that row, if it's a bunch of bumps then you purl. Think about stockinette this way, you are putting all the bumps on one side, so you want to keep the flat side flat and not add bumps, if you purl it puts the bumps on the side facing you, knitting puts them on the other side.

I hope this helps.

Oh and you don't need a row counter to keep track, before you start your next row slip a stitch counter (I use little hair ties) at the bottom of the needle then when ever you are working onto the needle you know to knit.

:D

Wife to GooB; Mom to Tori (7) and Belle (4) Jeremiah (2)

MamaDawn there too
My Little Shop
MAmaDawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 02:52 PM   #3
tmay
Casting On

Thanks so much, Dawn!

About the stitch markers - do you mean you put a new stitch marker on for each row?

May
Old 09-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #4
MAmaDawn
Working the Gusset