Old 10-16-2006, 01:24 PM   #1
Orchid22
Ribbing the Cuff

Switching Yarn question
Hello There!
My name is Martha, and I have been knitting for about 6 months now. I learned when I was 5 (my Mom was a knitting instructor at the YWCA), but it took me almost 30 years to get back to it. Fall/Winter is quickly upon us here in Columbus, Ohio, so I am anxious to start some warm projects!

Up to now I have only made very simple projects, but would like to try a sweater. My problem is that the yarn I like has recommended a size 17 needle and the pattern calls for a size 13 needle. Can I still make this pattern? Will I need to get more yarn than the 700 yards the pattern calls for? Will the sweather turn out too big if I use the larger needles? Can I just use size 13?

Sorry for all of the rambling questions in a row!!

Help!!!
Thanks,
Martha
Orchid22 is offline   Reply With Quote

This advertising will not be shown to registered members. Join our free online community today!

Old 10-16-2006, 01:28 PM   #2
Jan in CA
Mod Squad

Thanked 8,783 Times in 7,146 Posts
Knitting with a smaller than recommended needle can often result in a very dense fabric that's not as soft/pliable. What type of yarn does the pattern call for? Changing to a yarn with a different gauge can be tricky. Definitely do a gauge swatch and see where you need to go from there.

When asking questions ALWAYS post the name and a link for the pattern if you have it.

NEW! KH knitting video archive
~HOW TO POST A PHOTO~

Jan in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2006, 01:49 PM   #3

Hi Jan!
Thanks for your quick reply. Here is the sweater that I want to make: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/kws-turtleneck.html

This yarn in this sweater is discontinued, so I couldn't even buy it if I wanted to.

Here is the yarn that I would like to use: http://www.joann.com/catalog.jhtml?C...&source=search